Farm City New Year’s Resolutions

I remember when I first signed my contract for Farm City. It was 2007, and I thought: holy crap, I have to wait two years before it comes out? Seemed like forever. The hardcover came out the summer of 2009, and it has been such a great ride. I’m so humbled and thankful for all the great reviews and accolades FC has earned this year. Below are my goals and new schedule for touring and events to support Farm City.

Paperback! What? Yup, it’s a gorgeous new cover which features a rooster, a brick wall, and more graffiti. Coming out May 25. We’re setting up the tour right now. So far, it’s looking like Baltimore, Philly, Washington D.C., and Austin. Two small goals for when I’m touring in these cities: Washington DC: meet Michelle Obama and check out their garden/apiary; Philly: be interviewed by Terry Gross (though it seems like girl only interviews celebs these days). In Baltimore, my only goal is to eat as much of their tasty seafood as possible. Please let me know if you’d like me to come to your town, and I’ll see what I can do…

Speaker’s Bureau. I’m signing up to be part of Penguin’s Speaker’s Bureau. The idea is they’ll book gigs for me on college campus and town libraries, so I can come talk about Farm City and urban farming. FC is also part of the offerings for the first book incoming college freshmen read, so they can bond. Why didn’t I have that back in the day?

New Schedule. I’ll post it on my schedule page, too, but here’s where I’ll be this next year (so far).

February 6. Berkeley Author Dinner Fundraiser for the Berkeley Public Library

February 12. Black Panther Commemorator fundraiser, Niebyl-Proctor Library

February 27. Morgan Hill Library reading.

March 13. Tucson Book Festival.

March 21. Raising Rabbits workshop, Biofuel Oasis

March 30. Bernal Heights Library reading (SF)

April 17-19. Fox City Book Festival, Wisconsin

April 29. Arlington, VA Public Reading

May 15. Shelton, WA, Write in the Woods; my hometown’s writing workshop!

More to come as the June paperback schedule solidifies…

And Finally…

New Book. Yup, there’s a new book–well, actually two, in the works. The first is a how-to manual for urban farmers, written by me and Willow Rosenthal; it’s due out February 2011. The other is another memoir but this time focusing on my father and wild things. Then I’ll finally stop writing memoirs, and start in on novels. Whew!

13 Comments

Filed under book tour

13 responses to “Farm City New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Kathy

    Congrats on a wonderful contribution to urban farming! I’m reading your book. Just picked it up at the Library and can’t put it down. We (a bunch of neighbors) took a vacant lot in our neighborhood (Frenchtown) and turned it into an organic garden. Your book is building my confidence to expand! Thanks! And, good luck on your tour, happy growing, in all ways! {{smile}} -k

  2. Just finished your book, amazing stuff, very unexpectedly inspiring in a mostly undefinable way. I do know that the “Encyclopedia of Country Living” will now have a permanent spot on my desk, and as soon as this grad school mess is over, farming may become more than a passing interest.

  3. Cool, there is actually some great ideas on here some of my subscribers may find this relevant, I will send them a link, many thanks.

  4. A friend sent me your book. I am reading it now along with Richard Wiswall’s The Organic Farmer’s Business Handbook.

    You make me want to sell my farm in Ohio and get some vacant land in an urban area and start city farming-almost. hey I’m a small town/country woman who likes to see the stars at night.

    But than your tales of all the great “junk” urban dwellers toss out makes city farming quite attractive (my husband and I are both dumpster divers and we had an intern from the bay Area -SF, not Oakland who lived out of dumpsters for about 3 years and started a urban jewelry biz making jewelry from found bike parts). Granted, when we moved to our farm there was a lot of “farm art” that we made into useful objects and what could not be retooled into something else was sold for scrap or burned.

    Check out my farm sometime

    lucy

  5. Anne LaVallee

    Please come to Portland, Oregon, please.

  6. Maribeth

    Just finished your book – please come to Chicago!

  7. Dear Novella,
    I just finished the audio book version of Farm City and loved it. I’m stoked to move beyond lettuce and tomatoes here at my gopher farm in Sonoma County.

    Thanks for an inspiring and delightful read.
    Ana

  8. Hey Novella!

    You should come to Chicago! I mean, I think you were already here, but come back! I really liked your book and your blog(s). My husband and I are sort of mobile farmers as of now. This season we’re renting land and farming here: (www.prairiecrossingfarms.com). Our farm is Radical Root Farm (www.radicalrootfarm.com). If you are at all thinking of coming to the Chicago area, do it! There is a still a big need for awareness of this sort of thing here!

  9. Jeff Luce

    Your book was awesome. Please come to Atlanta!

  10. Yes – this is very exciting! I can’t wait to read the next book. Congrats to you and Willow!

  11. siu tung

    i am so enjoy your book
    however, i would like to ask some question!
    make sure some idea
    thank you
    a book Farm City: the Education of an Urban Farmer, by Novella Carpenter

    What would Carpenter recommend if asked her opinion about whether Americans should change their eating habits? What is her message about food and society?

  12. Stefanie

    I checked your book out at the library because it was local. I’ve got a really black thumb, but you’ve inspired me to start using my backyard for more than just storage. I bought a tomato and rosemary plant today! Unfortunately, I didn’t hear about your book until just TWO days after you left my neighborhood (bernal heights)!!!!!! so as for a place for you to visit, just come back to the bay area. Thanks Novella! Great book! Big fan! and I’m spreading the word!

  13. Kartik

    Just finished reading your book last night. Loved it! Entertaining, educational, and made me really like you as a person and fellow food-grower… I really appreciated your humility and honesty.

    Where’s your talk in Arlington this Thursday? Hoping to make it…

Leave a Reply

